Nederlands | Français
About the project
Map
Login
This dynamic, interactive, crossmedia experience tells the stories of urban trees and allows you to participate in all kinds of ways. It invites anyone: schools, families, walkers, tourists… to join the adventure of discovering the forest that’s growing, right here in our city.
Explore and be amazed
Wood Wide Web invites you to open your eyes: look at Brussels as if it were a forest. Through the map and various entries, you can explore it and (re)discover the trees in the city, their stories and specific qualities. The aim is to inspire a sense of wonder: discover their beauty, their role and their character, both inside and out.
2017
Encounter Connect
Wood Wide Web builds links between trees and a diverse range of players in the cultural, social, scientific and institutional worlds. This community nourishes the growth of the urban forest and offers a whole series of activities around and beneath the trees. Anyone can get involved in these activities in the field.
2018
Contribute Drive growth
We invite you to join the adventure. You, too, can add your favourite tree and your media content for others to enjoy. We hope that you will be inspired to join us in helping this urban forest to thrive: you can adopt a tree (or several), take care of a tree, or even plant new ones.
2019 - 2020
Look at Brussels
as a forest
Join us
in growing the forest
Add a tree to the atlas
This tool is the heart of the project. It allows you to: locate trees, access their media content and add your own. The aim: bit by bit, to transform this map into a flourishing jungle…

Read more
Identify the tree specie, and geolocate it
We offer some tips to help you geolocate your tree, and tools for determining what kind of tree it is.

Read more about "Species"
Read more about "Geolocation"
Plant a tree
It's possible to plant a tree in the city!
And also, to care for trees.
How to keep it sustainable?
More soon: in late 2018 and spring 2019
The community:
Thank you to the trees and the forest.
These sensitive, communicative, complex, silent,
and incredibly efficient living beings which inspire us
and help us with so many essential things in life.
Thank you as well to everyone that gets involved,
whether regularly or occasionally, with Wood Wide Web.
Planters
Our project only makes sense if it functions as a collective. Since 2013, we have sown seeds together with associations, collectives, institutions, schools and companies all around us. They have grown thanks to various participants who have put the trees at the heart of their programmes, productions, work and life. With us, they have planted trees in Brussels’s soil and onto our Wood Wide Web map, growing urban forests both in real life and on our virtual web. Thank you to:
Everyone who has trees and forests at the heart of their programmes and actions. Together, we propose activities in the field with the aim of bringing trees and people together.
: "Pinhole tree" , "Necropolis tree" , "The Thought Tree" , "Under the cobblestones... the roots! » , "Botanicum Tree" (1) , "Talking Tree" , "The craftstree" , American elm , Fig tree , Persian ironwood, Ironwook , Oriental plane tree , Common yew , European beech , Copper beech, Purple European Beech , Common horse chestnut , Callery pear , Lime, Large-leaved , Common silver birch , Common silver birch , Common horse chestnut , European beech , London plane , Yellow-poplar , "The Seeding Tree" , Small-leaved linden, European linden , "The Tribe Tree" , "The Grove Tree" , "The farmers' tree" , « Melancholia trees » , "No title tree" , « Avijl tree » (1) , Common silver birch , Yellow-poplar , "A forest" boom , "The messenger" , "Touch Tree" , "Ma Campagne" tree (1) , "Ma campagne" tree (2) , "MA campagne" tree (3) , "Ma campagne" tree (4) , "Ma campagne " tree (5) , "Ma campagne "tree , "Humus boom" , "Alley trees" , "Cherokee Tree" , "Trajectory tree" , "A fully present tree" , Large-leaved lime , "Alhambra Tree" , "The silk tree" , "The lanscaping tree" (1) , "The landscaping tree" (2) , "The landscaping tree" (3) , "Touch Tree" (2) , "Touch Tree" (3)
Fertilis’actors
Standing with us and helping us in an understated way, these participants really anchor the project and help it grow scientifically and suitably. They surround us, encourage us, advise us, challenge us, and support us. Thank you to:
Everyone who helps us bring our project to people, by offering or exchanging their theoretical and practical knowledge, by sharing their data/information, or by providing illustrations/photos which sometimes were previously unpublished. Scientists, passionate dendrologists, municipal officials of green spaces, gardeners, etc. – in particular:
Bruno Campanella
Catherine Leclercq
Nicole Hanquart
Joke Ossaer
Guillaume Mamdy
Sophie Barré
Frédéric Cousseran
Pierre Meert
Guillaume Pé
Anton Laurent
Clémentine Leemans
Ursula Wieser
May Reinke
Wolfgang Vahsen
Gérard Carbonnelle
Marc Delisse
Léon Meganck
Sébastien Lezaca
Laetitia Eudier
Frédéric Boutry
Alain Waterlot
Juliana Moreira de Castro
Olivier Mingers
Sébastien Lezaca
Nicolas Hanquart
Paul Gourgue
André et Viviane Staner
Marc Florin
Jan Vandervorst
Denis Diagre
Valérie Charavel
Jérôme Degreef
Their organisations, management, colleagues or teams that allowed them to join us. Deserving particular mention are: the Natural Heritage Department of the Brussels Capital Region, the Botanic Garden Meise, the Belgian Society of Dendrology, the Association of Remarkable Trees of France, and also the individual municipalities of Forest, Watermael-Boitsfort, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Schaerbeek, City of Brussels, etc.
Everyone who has tested, questioned, corrected, checked, and translated our work, and helped us expand our network... Their honesty, and their constructive and kind criticisms, helped us to take a step back, to change perspective, or simply to avoid errors.
Andreas Dietl
Anne Sophie Walazyc
Muriel Verhaegen
Jean Louis Van Malder
Denis Bouillon
Nicole Tonneau
Bernard Bachelard
Henriette Herkes
Thierry Lacasse
Frank Hidvegi
Sabine Husson
Pierre Timmermans
Mai Sas
Everyone who indirectly watches over the forest, encouraging us, creating the conditions – whether spatial, temporal and sometimes even material – that allow us to do our work. This adventure would not be the same without their presence, patience and love.
Our partners and companions
Our children
Our close friends
Our mentors
Although this list is already long, it is by no means exhaustive: it represents only a part of the vast human forest! Thank you to everyone who – from near and far, anonymously, indirectly, and sometimes even unknowingly – have fertilised the Wood Wide Web or made it radiate around them.
A special thank you to the organisations that believed in this slightly wild project led by a young non-profit organisation, putting trust in its development and its changes, and supporting us financially and instrumentally. These partners have a special mention on our site’s homepage.
Sowers
The current Wood Wide Web team
Priscille Cazin, co-founder and head of Wood Wide Web, author of the portraits and records about these remarkable trees, co-author and media co-director, facilitator and project spokesperson in the field.
Priscille is an author, scriptwriter, director, journalist, producer, and social and environmental entrepreneur For 20 years, she has been creating, developing and producing information programmes and audio-visual creations for various media, including youth media (radio, TV, online). She also conducts awareness campaigns in the field and through media channels aimed at a wide audience. Priscille is passionate about bringing science to the people, handling information through sound and image, and communicating empathically. For several years, themes related to nature and humans have been at the heart of her work. She runs workshops related to trees and soil for youths and adults, and guides groups through the heart of the forest.
www.zerolutions.be
Contact : priscillecaz@hotmail.com
Gwen is the project videographer, researcher and image solutions developer (video, VR360), video co-author and co-director.
For more than 10 years, alongside news, institutional and documentary shooting, Gwen has been constantly experimenting with new techniques using machinery, drones and on-board cameras. Gwen is hands-on and constantly developing his film shooting kit. He makes and modifies his own accessories to optimize his film shooting. The forest is this rising cameraman’s favourite site for audio-visual experimentation. In the search for organic and sensual images, he adapts his techniques to each tree’s morphology.
https://vimeo.com/gwenvideos
Contact : gwenbreuls@hotmail.com
Griet leads the project’s Dutch-speaking development, both online and with groups in the field.
Griet worked as a writer and coordinator in the world of theatre for many years, before her desire to reimmerse herself in action and creativity manifested itself. She trained intensively in mindfulness and presence, and studied a 4-year course to become a body and movement therapist. Her creative journey mixes performance and ceremony, is anchored in nature, and connects individuals with trees. The ‘Ancient Wisdom’ is also an indispensable fertile ground for her and her practice.
www.spiderscanfly.com
Contact: griet@spidercanfly.com
Behind the scenes
Patrick Delfosse, author, director, producer, journalist. Other than managing Instant News Services (INS), Patrick is also the president of the ThreeTwoShoot non-profit organisation which brought us together and produced the Wood Wide Web. He is our keeper and guardian angel.
Frédéric Fiévé, co-founder of Wood Wide Web, co-animater and organiser, co-director of art and project techniques: humble driver of the project until 2017.
Other Team Members
Bruno Campanella: Doctor of environment and agronomist, member of the team in charge of the inventory of remarkable trees within the Brussels capital region’s Direction des Monuments et des Sites department. With his advice and scientific knowledge, Bruno plays a key role in helping us put together the 150 records and portraits in Wood Wide Web. Together with Catherine Leclercq, they often enlighten us about many subjects.
Atelier Cartographique – Pierre, Nina and Sophie work with us to develop the website for the Wood Wide Web and its overall design.
Triangle Translation – Joan Roels, Samantha Couset and their team of translators help ensure our site, tree portraits and records are all trilingual.
Our Collaborators
Slanje – Mark Vanderstraten, post-production and co-director of portrait-format videos
Animal Sound – Arnaud Riedinger, sound engineer, musician and sound designer
Numic – Graphic design, Julien-Pierre Buse and team
7 billion urbanists – Collaborative urban planning laboratory / open source

Nederlands | English
À propos du projet
Carte des arbres
Login
Dynamique et interactive cette expérience crossmedia raconte des histoires d’arbres urbains et propose différents niveaux de participation. Elle invite les écoles, familles, simples promeneurs, touristes à se joindre à l’aventure d’une forêt qui pousse en ville.
Découvrir S’émerveiller
Wood Wide Web vous propose d’ouvrir vos yeux : regarder Bruxelles comme si c’était une forêt. Vous pouvez l’explorer grâce à sa carte et de multiples contenus. Ils vous permettent de (re)découvrir les arbres en ville, leurs histoires, leurs caractéristiques. Le but est de vous enchanter : révéler leur beauté, leur rôle, leur caractère, visibles ou invisibles.
2017
Rencontrer Relier
Wood Wide Web tisse des liens entre les arbres et toute une série d’acteurs culturels, sociaux, scientifiques, institutionnels. Cette communauté fait pousser la forêt urbaine et propose toute une série d’activités à leurs pieds. Vous pourrez participer à ces activités de terrain.
2018
Contribuer Faire pousser
Nous vous proposons de vous joindre à l’aventure. Ajouter à votre tour votre arbre préféré et vos médias arborés pour le faire découvrir aux autres. Nous espérons que vous aurez envie de faire pousser la forêt urbaine avec nous : adopter un arbre (au moins), en prendre soin, ou même en planter de nouveaux.
2019 - 2020
Regarder Bruxelles
comme une forêt
Utiliser l'atlas
Fiches et portraits
Chacun des points de la carte mène à une fiche ou un grand portrait qui dévoilent l'identité d'un arbre, son rôle, et son caractère.

Lire la documentation
Bibliographie
Services de l'arbre
Pourquoi les arbres sont-ils essentiels en ville ?
En quoi sont-ils intéressants pour nous et pour le milieu urbain ?

Lire la documentation
Faire pousser la forêt
avec nous
Ajouter un arbre à l'atlas
Cet outil est le cœur du projet. Il vous permet de : repérer les arbres, accéder à leurs contenus médias et en proposer de nouveaux. Le but : transformer petit à petit cette carte en jungle…

Lire la documentation
Reconnaître son espèce, et le géolocaliser
Nous avons rassemblé quelques conseils pour vous aider à géolocaliser votre arbre, et des outils pour deviner à quelle espèce il appartient.

Lire la documentation "espèces"
Lire la documentation "Géolocalisation"
Planter
à l'automne 2019 ...
La communauté:
Merci aux arbres et à la forêt, ces êtres vivants
sensibles, communicants, complexes, silencieux, incroyablement efficaces,
qui nous inspirent et qui nous rendent tant de services essentiels.
Merci aussi à tous ceux et celles qui s’impliquent,
ponctuellement, ou régulièrement dans Wood Wide Web.
Planteurs
Notre projet n’a de sens que s’il est collectif. Depuis 2013, nous semons des graines dans des associations, collectifs, institutions, écoles, entreprises, etc autour de nous. Elles ont poussé grâce à toute une série d’acteurs qui ont mis les arbres au cœur de leur programmation, création, travail, vie. Ils ont planté des arbres dans la carte ou dans le sol bruxellois avec nous. Ils font pousser la forêt urbaine à la fois virtuelle et réelle. Merci à :
Ceux qui mettent l’arbre et la forêt au cœur de leur programmation ou leur action. Ensemble nous proposons des activités de terrain : pour aller à la rencontre des arbres et des personnes.
Fertilis’acteurs
Ils sont présents à nos côtés et nous aident discrètement, à ancrer le projet, le faire grandir scientifiquement et humainement. Ils nous entourent, nous encouragent, nous conseillent, nous questionnent, nous accompagnent. Merci à :
Ceux et celles qui enrichissent notre vulgarisation en offrant ou échangeant leurs connaissances théoriques ou pratiques, en partageant leurs données/informations ou illustrations/photos parfois inédits. Scientifiques, dendrologues passionnés, responsables communaux des espaces verts, jardiniers, etc. en particulier :
Bruno Campanella
Catherine Leclercq
Nicole Hanquart
Joke Ossaer
Guillaume Mamdy
Sophie Barré
Frédéric Cousseran
Pierre Meert
Guillaume Pé
Anton Laurent
Clémentine Leemans
Ursula Wieser
May Reinke
Wolfgang Vahsen
Gérard Carbonnelle
Marc Delisse
Léon Meganck
Sébastien Lezaca
Laetitia Eudier
Frédéric Boutry
Alain Waterlot
Juliana Moreira de Castro
Olivier Mingers
Sébastien Lezaca
Nicolas Hanquart
Paul Gourgue
André et Viviane Staner
Marc Florin
Jan Vandervorst
Denis Diagre
Valérie Charavel
Jérôme Degreef
A leurs structures, hiérarchies, collègues ou équipes qui leur ont permis de se joindre à nous, notamment: le département Patrimoine Naturel de la Région de Bruxelles Capitale, le Jardin Botanique de Meise, la Société Belge de Dendrologie, l’Association des Arbres remarquables de France, les communes de Forest, Watermael-Boitsfort, Woluwe Saint Lambert, Schaerbeek, Bruxelles, …
A ceux et celles qui nous sondent, questionnent, corrigent, relisent, traduisent, nous mettent en réseau ... Leur franchise et leurs critiques, constructives et bienveillantes, nous sortent le nez du guidon, nous aident à prendre du recul, changer de perspective, ou tout simplement nous évitent bien des coquilles.
Andreas Dietl
Anne Sophie Walazyc
Muriel Verhaegen
Jean Louis Van Malder
Denis Bouillon
Nicole Tonneau
Bernard Bachelard
Henriette Herkes
Thierry Lacasse
Frank Hidvegi
Sabine Husson
Pierre Timmermans
Mai Sas
Ceux et celles qui veillent indirectement sur la forêt, en nous encourageant, en créant les conditions spatiales, temporelles et parfois même matérielles qui nous permettent de travailler. Sans leur présence, patience, amour cette aventure ne serait pas la même.
Nos compagnes et compagnons
Nos enfants
Nos amis proches
Nos mentors
Cette liste, déjà longue, n’est pas exhaustive : elle est la face immergée de cette forêt humaine ! Merci à tous ceux qui - de près ou de loin, dans l’anonymat, indirectement, parfois même sans en être conscients - ont fertilisé WoodWide Web ou l’ont fait rayonner autour d’eux.
Un merci spécial aux structures qui ont cru dans ce projet un peu fou mené par une jeune asbl, qui font confiance à son développement et ses changements, nous soutiennent financièrement et matériellement. Ces partenaires ont une place spéciale dans la homepage de ce site.
Semeurs
L’équipe actuelle de Wood Wide Web:
Priscille Cazin, co-fondatrice de Wood Wide Web, auteur des portraits et fiches des arbres remarquables, co-auteur et co-réalisateur video responsable, animatrice et porte-parole du projet.
Priscille est auteur, scénariste, réalisatrice, journaliste et productrice, entrepreneur social et environnemental. Depuis 20 ans elle crée, développe et produit des programmes d’information et de création audiovisuelle/numérique pour différents médias, notamment jeunesse (radio, TV, webTV). Elle réalise également des campagnes de sensibilisation média et de terrain qui s’adressent à un public large. Priscille est passionnée par la vulgarisation scientifique, le traitement de l’information par le son et l’image, la communication empathique. Les thématiques liées à la nature et l’humain sont au cœur de son travail depuis plusieurs années. Elle anime des ateliers pour jeunes et pour adultes sur les arbres et le sol, et guide des groupes au cœur de la forêt.
www.zerolutions.be
Contact : priscillecaz@hotmail.com
Gwen est le vidéaste du projet, chercheur et développeur de solution images, co-auteur et co-réalisateur video
Depuis plus de 10 ans, à côté de tournages news, institutionnels et documentaire, Gwen teste sans cesse de nouvelles techniques : machineries, drônes, caméra embarquée. Bricoleur, son kit de tournage est en perpétuel développement. Il fabrique et modifie ses accessoires pour optimiser ses tournages. Ce cameraman grimpeur, choisit la forêt comme terrain de prédilection pour son expérimentation audiovisuelle. Il adapte ses techniques à la morphologie de chaque arbre/individu, à la recherche d’images organiques et sensuelles.
https://vimeo.com/gwenvideos
Contact : gwenbreuls@hotmail.com
Griet anime le développement néerlandophone du projet, en ligne et dans des ateliers de terrain.
Griet a travaillé pendant de nombreuses années dans le théâtre comme rédactrice et coordinatrice, jusqu'à ce que le désir de se plonger à nouveau dans le mouvement et la créativité se manifeste. Elle a suivi une formation intensive en Mindfulness & Presence, et une formation de 4 ans pour devenir thérapeute du corps et du mouvement. Son parcours créatif se situe à l'intersection de la performance et de la cérémonie. Il est ancré dans la nature, et connecté aux êtres et aux arbres. La « Ancient Wisdom » est aussi un terreau fertile indispensable dans sa pratique.
www.spiderscanfly.com
Contact: griet@spidercanfly.com
Dans les coulisses :
Patrick Delfosse, auteur, réalisateur, producteur, journaliste. A côté de la direction de Instant News Services, INS, Patrick est le président de l’asbl ThreeTwoShoot qui nous rassemble et produit Wood Wide Web. Il est notre gardien et notre garde-fou.
Frédéric Fiévé, co-fondateur de Wood Wide Web, co-animateur et organisateur, co-direction artistique et technique du projet 2015-2017. Moteur discret du projet jusqu’en 2017…
Les co-équipiers
Bruno Campanella : Docteur en Environnement, et ingénieur agronome, membre de l’équipe en charge de l’inventaire des arbres remarquables au sein de la Direction des Monuments et des Sites, de la Région de Bruxelles Capitale. Avec ses conseils et connaissances scientifiques, Bruno joue un rôle essentiel à nos côtés dans l’élaboration des 150 fiches et portraits de Wood Wide Web. Le duo qu’il forme avec Catherine Leclercq nous éclaire souvent sur bien des sujets.
Atelier Cartographique – Pierre H., Pierre M., Pacôme, Nina en Sophie qui développent pour nous le site web, et sa carte participative : cœur du projet.
Triangle Translations – Joan Roels, Samantha Couset et leur équipe assurent le trilinguisme des portraits et fiches des arbres remarquables.
Nos collaborateurs
Slanje - Mark Vanderstraten, post producteur et co-réalisateur des vidéos verticales
Animal Sound - Arnaud Riedinger, ingénieur du son, musicien et créateur sonore
Numic – Graphic design, Julien-Pierre Buse et son équipe
7 billion urbanists – Laboratoire d’urbanisme collaboratif / open source