Adress
Rue du Marché aux Herbes / Grasmarkt Brussels
GPS coordinates :
50.8465 , 4.3549
Partner :
This tree has been added to the WoodWideWeb atlas by The gardener at heart

Identity

Latin name :
Tilia tomentosa
French name :
Tilleul argenté
Dutch name :
Zilverlinde
English name :
Silver lime (UK), Silver linden (US)
Family :
Tiliaceae
Height :
-
Targeted height :
This species can grow up to 40 m
Diameter of the crown :
-
Trunk circumference :
-
Expected circumference :
500 cm
Expected longevity :
Can live for 1000–2000 years
Origin / Indigenous
South-eastern Europe, Anatolia
Favorite soil :
All
Favorite climate
Temperate
Tilia tomentosa, Hempel.Belgian Federal State Collection on permanent loan to the Meise Botanical Garden

Features and characters of the individual

This lime tree was noticed by Jean-Louis Van Malder, passing by, going to the Grand Place, looking up. A gardener at heart, he is one of those nurserymen and horticulturists who have helped to bloom and afforest Brussels for years:

"At its birth, around the year 1000 AD, Brussels was only a marsh, small rivers, woods, fields, a few scattered buildings. In his heart was an open-air market. Everything was negotiated, from utilitarian items, haberdashery to secondhand trade and food. A profusion of basic necessities, including trees and shrubs, used a few streets away. This market has enabled the city's social and economic development in a context of greenery, parks, public and private gardens.

Then, the village metamorphosed, the living soil gave way to concrete, the woods and fields moved away, discreetly, not without leaving a trace in a street name, such as "La Pépinière", under the bark of a lime tree, at the corner of rue du marché aux Herbes, in the interiors of islets, in these small green oases surrounded by walls.

As the urbanization of what was to become a capital city progressed, the flame of this market gradually faded, leaving, at the beginning of the 21st century, only one horticulturist known as the "gardener" of the Grand Place. He belonged to the fifth generation of a family of producers who, seven days a week, from sunrise to sunset, supplied the corners of Brussels with plants, trees and shrubs where greenery found refuge.

The gardener also left in October 2016, leaving an empty space on the Grand Place. But his clients did not wait for him to leave to preserve the fruit of his work in their garden, in their groves, on their terrace; they will continue to sow, cut, plant, heal the living. Their learning is just beginning. Actually, the gardener didn't go far away. Has he even left? »

ACTIVITY - MEETING

The Gardener of the Grand' Place, accompanied by a small group of plants, returns temporarily to the Square on the days of March 20 to 23, 2019 inclusive. To share once again with its customers, with the people of Brussels, its passionate vision of life. Then he will return to the organic world and his grandchildren. He offers us a book that deals with plants and humans, but also, implicitly, with the very substance of his profession, with thousands of trees and shrubs growing all over the city. He is one of those actors of the forest, discreet but very present, who question and enrich our project.

The meeting will be held in public on Wednesday, March 27, at 6:30 p.m. at the Bibliothèque des Riches-Claires.

idem
idem
-
idem
idem
© Photo : Bruno Campanella – Patrimoine naturel, Brussels Region

Adresse :
Rue du Marché aux Herbes Bruxelles
Coordonnées GPS :
50.8465 , 4.3549
Partenaire :
Cet arbre a été ajouté à l’atlas de Wood Wide Web par Le jardinier dans l'âme

Carte d'identité

Nom en latin :
Tilia tomentosa
Nom en français :
Tilleul argenté
Nom en néerlandais :
Zilverlinde
Nom en anglais :
Silver lime (UK), Silver linden (US)
Famille :
Tiliaceae
Hauteur :
-
Hauteur visée :
Cette espèce peut atteindre 40 m
Diamètre de la couronne :
-
Circonférence du tronc :
-
Circonférence espérée :
500 cm
Longévité espérée :
Peut vivre entre 1000 et 2000 ans
Origine / Indigène :
Sud Est de l’Europe, Asie Mineure
Sol préféré :
Tous
Climat préféré :
Tempéré
Tilia Tomentoa, Hempel. Collection de l'Etat fédéral belge en prêt permanent au Jardin botanique de Meise

Traits et caractères de l'individu

Ce tilleul argenté a été remarqué par Jean-Louis Van Malder, se rendant à la Grand Place, en levant les yeux. Jardinier dans l’âme, il fait partie de ces pépiniéristes et horticulteurs qui ont contribué à fleurir et boiser Bruxelles pendant des années :

« A sa naissance, vers l’an mil de notre ère, Bruxelles n’était que marais, petits cours d’eau, bois, champs, quelques bâtisses éparses. En son cœur battait un marché à ciel ouvert. Tout s’y négociait, allant des objets utilitaires, de la mercerie à la brocante en passant par de l’alimentation. Une profusion d’articles de première nécessité, dont des arbres et des arbustes, utilisés quelques rues plus loin. Ce marché a permis en quelque sorte le développement social et économique de la ville dans un contexte de verdure arborée, de parcs, de jardins publics et privés.

Puis, le village s’est métamorphosé, le sol vivant a fait place nette au béton, les bois et les champs se sont éloignés, discrètement, non sans laisser de trace dans un nom de rue, comme ‘La Pépinière’, sous l’écorce d’un tilleul, au coin de la rue du marché aux ‘Herbes, dans les intérieurs d’îlots, dans ces petites oasis vertes cernées de murs.

Au fil de l’urbanisation de ce qui allait devenir une capitale, la flamme de ce marché s’est éteinte, petit à petit, pour ne laisser, au début du 21 ème siècle, qu’un seul horticulteur connu comme ‘le jardinier’ de la Grand’Place. Il appartenait à la cinquième génération d’une famille de producteurs qui, sept jours sur sept, du lever du jour au coucher, approvisionnaient en plantes, arbres et arbustes, les coins bruxellois où la verdure trouvait refuge.

Le jardinier est parti, lui aussi, en octobre 2016, laissant un vide sur la Grand Place. Mais ses clients n’ont pas attendu son départ pour préserver le fruit de son travail dans leur jardin, dans leurs bosquets, sur leur terrasse ; ils continueront à semer, bouturer, planter, soigner le vivant. Leur apprentissage ne fait que commencer. En fait, le jardinier n’est pas parti bien loin. Est-il seulement parti ? »

ACTIVITE - RENCONTRE

Le Jardinier de la Grand’Place, accompagné d’un petit groupe de plantes, revient momentanément sur la Place les journées du 20 au 23 mars 2019 inclus. Pour partager à nouveau avec ses clients, avec les bruxellois, sa vision passionnée du vivant. Ensuite, il repartira se consacrer au monde organique et à ses petits-enfants. Il nous propose un livre qui traite des plantes et des humains, mais aussi, implicitement, de la substance même de son métier, des milliers d’arbres et arbustes grandissant un peu partout en ville. Il fait partie de ces acteurs de la forêt, discrets mais bien présents, qui questionnent et enrichissent notre projet.

idem
idem
-
idem
idem
© Photo : Bruno Campanella, 2002 – Patrimoine naturel, Région Bruxelles Capitale